Castles Travel
▾ In this article

When Do Castle Tickets Go on Sale? At the Forbidden City, Seven Days Ahead at 20:00

An empty booking calendar means one of two things, and only one of them is sold out. The Forbidden City puts each date on sale seven days ahead at 20:00; Karlstejn will not let an individual book its cheapest tour at all. Seven release rules, read on 28 October 2026.

13 min read
A great golden-roofed hall of the Forbidden City standing on its marble terrace across an empty stone courtyard.
The Hall of Supreme Harmony. Every ticket that admits you to this courtyard went on sale seven days earlier, at 20:00, against the passport you will show at the gate. · Freepik / Magnific, Premium licence

When do castle tickets go on sale? Ask that question in November about a date in February, and the Palace Museum in Beijing will show you an empty calendar. It looks exactly like a sold-out one. It is not. Nothing has gone, because nothing has been released: a date at the Forbidden City is put on sale seven days beforehand, at 20:00 Beijing time, and until that clock strikes there is no February to buy.

The advice on the first page of every search result is to book months ahead. At most of the monuments in this catalogue that is sound. At several of them it is impossible, and the gap between those two cases is where people lose a visit. They read an empty calendar as a full one, conclude they have left it too late, and buy from somebody who holds nothing they could not have had themselves.

So this is what the bodies that run these places say about their own release windows, read on 28 October 2026 on their own pages. Two of the windows below close within the week.

Sold out, or not yet on sale

These are two different problems with two different answers, and the booking page rarely tells you which one you are looking at. A monument that has sold its stock shows you a date with no availability. A monument that has not yet released the date shows you, in most cases, the same thing: a greyed-out square, or a calendar that simply stops.

The test is not what the page looks like. It is whether the body publishes a release rule at all. Where it does, count the days back from your date and you know whether the ticket exists yet. Where it does not, you are guessing, and so is everybody writing about it.

This matters commercially as well, and we have an interest to declare. When a date is not yet released, nobody can sell it to you, including us. An operator books against the same release, at the same hour, from the same finite stock. We set out what that means for price in our piece on what a castle ticket costs at the gate and what the page above it asks, and the booking rule is the other half of the same answer.

When castle tickets go on sale: the windows shaped like a clock

At four of the monuments below the window is measured in days, and in one case in a single hour of the evening. These are the places where booking early is not a virtue, because early does not exist.

Release rules read on 28 October 2026 on each body's own pages. Where a window is not stated, we say so instead of estimating it.
Monument When a date goes on sale Where you buy it The rule that catches people
Forbidden City, BeijingExactly seven days ahead, at 20:00bookingticket.dpm.org.cn, reached from intl.dpm.org.cnOne ticket per identity document per visiting day, in the visitor's own name
Summer Palace, BeijingOne to seven days aheadThe park's official WeChat account, or a service window at the gateTelephone booking needs at least a day's notice; bring the passport you booked with
Peles, SinaiaNo published release rule; 2,000 places a daybilete.peles.ro or a SelfPay machine, and nowhere elseGuides enter on a ticket of their own, so a party of twenty consumes twenty-one places
Karlstejn, Tour INot on sale in advance to individuals at allThe ticket office, on the dayReservations exist only for organised groups of ten or more, at 20 CZK a head
Karlstejn, Tour IIBooking compulsory for everyone, individuals includedBy telephone, or by e-mail four or more days aheadThe castle will not take a booking for the day you telephone
Alhambra, GranadaAdvance sale, window not stated on the pages we could reachtickets.alhambra-patronato.esTen tickets a month per individual buyer, each one carrying a name
Pena, SintraAdvance sale, no published cut-offparquesdesintra.ptThe 12 EUR park ticket has no time slot; the 20 EUR palace ticket has no tolerance for lateness
The golden roofs of the Forbidden City seen in a long line from Jingshan hill, with modern Beijing hazy behind.
The roofs of the Forbidden City from Jingshan. Every ticket below them is sold in a single burst at 20:00, seven days before the day it admits you.

Forbidden City tickets: seven days, 20:00, one passport

The Palace Museum runs the strictest release in this catalogue and states it plainly. Its booking portal says that tickets, the Treasure Hall, the Watch Hall and the exhibitions will be reserved from 20:00 before the 7th day of visit. Every reservation is in a real name. Entry on the day you turn up is excluded in the museum's own words:

The Palace Museum does not sell one-day tickets.

— bookingticket.dpm.org.cn, read 28 October 2026

Work that backwards and the consequences are unusual. A Saturday visit goes on sale at eight in the evening on the previous Saturday, Beijing time, which for a traveller still in Europe is early afternoon. There is no early access for anybody, so the whole market for a date forms in one minute of one evening. The museum also caps cancellations at no more than one cancellation per person per day, which closes off holding two dates and dropping one.

The part almost nothing in English publishes is how a visitor without a Chinese identity document or a Chinese payment app is supposed to do any of this. There is a separate international portal at bookingticket.dpm.org.cn, reached from intl.dpm.org.cn rather than from the ticketing domain that surfaces in an English search. An account there needs an e-mail address and nothing else, the booking is made against a passport number, and the payment page accepts an ordinary international bank card. Entry is listed at CNY 60.

One correction to our own earlier wording, because it is the sort of thing this site exists to get right. We have described the Forbidden City as having no ticket counter at all. That goes further than the evidence. Counters do exist, with published hours, and in the museum's own documents they handle refunds and invoices; the payment page also carries an Apply for on-site payment option. What the museum excludes is the sale of a ticket on the day of the visit. Travellers have described buying at a window when the website was empty, and no page from the museum either authorises that or rules it out case by case. So the rule stands, and whether a particular counter will sell you a ticket on a particular morning is not something we can tell you. Plan for the seven-day clock, in your own name, with the passport you booked on.

A painted timber pavilion on its stone terrace in the Summer Palace at Beijing, framed by the hanging branches of a willow.

Same city, opposite rule

The Summer Palace will sell you a ticket at the gate

Across the city, the other imperial site in Beijing behaves nothing like the palace. Reservations run 1-7 days in advance on the park's official WeChat account, so a plan that slips by a day does not start over. Entry is 30 CNY in peak season and 20 in the off season, and the gates open at six in the morning.

And the thing we could not confirm in September turns out to exist. The Beijing municipal guide tells a visitor without a booking to go to the comprehensive service window in the park gate area to purchase tickets. There is a counter. Telephone booking still wants a day's notice, and some of the paying enclosures inside the park take no same-day reservation at all, so the window is a fallback, not a plan.

One figure we had on record has not survived the check. We noted in September that the Summer Palace released fresh availability each evening at 21:00. Nothing we could reach on 28 October states a release time, and the municipal page gives only the one-to-seven-day window. An hour that cannot be confirmed is not a time to set an alarm by, so treat the window as the rule and the hour as unpublished.

When castle tickets go on sale by the month, not by the hour

The second kind of empty calendar has nothing to do with demand. At these places a whole route, or a whole house, is withdrawn for part of the year, and the booking page for a date in January is empty because there is nothing on sale in January. This is the case the aggregators miss most reliably, and it is the reason a visit gets planned around a room that will be shut.

Which months have anything to sell

Five routes whose availability has the shape of a calendar rather than a clock. The highlighted months are the ones running a full season; the excluded months are the ones where the ticket does not exist to buy.

Month 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Peles, the castle Shut from 2 November to 1 December 2026 for routine upkeep, which takes almost the whole month out. Closed every Monday and Tuesday in any month, with the last individual admission at 16:00 against a 17:00 closing time. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Pelisor, the smaller house Dark from 28 September to 3 November 2026 on its own maintenance calendar, which is not the castle's. The two houses share a weekly calendar and not an annual one, so one can be open while the other is closed. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Karlstejn, Tour II, the chapels The route to the Chapel of the Holy Cross runs for the last time this year on Sunday 1 November, 10:05 to 14:05, then closes until 30 April 2027. Sixteen people every thirty minutes, and booking is compulsory for everyone. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Karlstejn, Tour I, the residence Runs all year but thins out: Friday to Sunday only through November, 10:00 to 15:00, plus Monday 16 and Tuesday 17 November. No tour departs with fewer than five people aboard, except the last of the day. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Alhambra, the Nasrid Palaces Never closed except 25 December and 1 January, but from 1 April the complex shuts at 20:00 instead of 18:00, which adds two hours of half-hourly slots to every day. That is why March sells out while April looks wide open. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
on sale on sale, shorter day nothing to buy

Read 28 October 2026 on peles.ro, hrad-karlstejn.cz and alhambra-patronato.es. Maintenance dates are announced a season at a time, not a year ahead.

The Peles closure is the one to act on this week. The museum's own page gives the castle as shut from 2 November to 1 December 2026 and Pelisor from 28 September to 3 November, both for routine upkeep. Anybody holding a Transylvania itinerary for November has four days of castle left, and the two houses are on different calendars, so the smaller one comes back just as the big one goes dark. This is the same trap we mapped in what shuts for winter in October and what only shortens its hours: the closure only ever lives on the owner's own page.

Two more things about Peles that change what early booking even means. There is no cash desk: the museum grants admission only on tickets from its own site or a SelfPay machine. And the ticket is immovable. The museum states that tickets bought for a scheduled visit cannot be rescheduled, which puts it at the strict end of everything on this page. Within the band on your ticket, entry is first come, first served, so being early inside your own window is worth more than being early in the day. The bands and the 100 lei circuit are set out on our Peles page.

Peles Castle at Sinaia seen across a green lawn and framed by tall conifers, its spires and timbered gables against the sky.
Peles at Sinaia. The castle closes for upkeep from 2 November to 1 December 2026, and its tickets cannot be moved to another date.

Karlstejn Castle booking: the cheapest tour is the one you cannot reserve

Karlstejn sells no admission at all. It sells a place on a guided route, and there are three of them with three separate rulebooks. The base tour through the imperial residence of Charles IV costs 300 CZK and runs every ten minutes, and it is the one tour here that an individual is not allowed to book. Not sold out, not restricted by season. The facility does not exist, and the castle says so on its own reservation page:

You don't need any booking for Tour 1 unless you are an organised group. Individual booking for Tour 1 is not possible due to technical reasons.

— Karlstejn Castle reservation page, read 28 October 2026

Reservations open only for organised groups of ten or more, at a fee of 20 CZK a head, and everybody else turns up at the ticket office and joins the next departure. In July that is a formality. In November it is not, because no tour leaves with fewer than five people aboard, free places included, and the only departure exempt from that is the last of the day. Two people in a Bohemian November should aim for the final slot, which is the one that cannot strand them.

Tour II, the route that reaches the Chapel of the Holy Cross, works the opposite way round. Booking is compulsory for everyone, individuals included, the castle prefers the telephone, and e-mail is only processed if sent four or more days before the visit. There is also a floor under the whole thing that catches late planners: the castle will not take a booking for the day you telephone. So the cheapest route is the one you cannot reserve, and the dearest are the ones you cannot walk up to.

One contradiction we will print instead of quietly fixing, because it is the commonest fault in this vertical and we cannot resolve it from outside. On the castle's reservation page the Christmas closure reads 22th till 25th December CLOSED. On its opening hours page the same closure is given as 21 to 25 December. One body, two pages, one day apart. If you are planning around that week, telephone instead of trusting either number, and note that the chapels route is closed then in any case. Our Karlstejn page carries the three routes side by side.

The white Great Tower of Karlstejn Castle with its dark roof rising above the trees against a clear blue sky.
The Great Tower of Karlstejn. The route that climbs its staircase to the Chapel of the Holy Cross runs for the last time this year on 1 November.

Alhambra tickets sold out, or simply not released yet?

The Alhambra is where this question gets asked most often and answered worst. The Patronato publishes a great deal about the ticket and very little about when it appears, so the limit of what we could establish is worth stating up front.

What is firm comes from the Patronato's own visitor pages, read on 28 October 2026. A private individual may buy no more than ten tickets a month, a rule the body says exists to protect individual visitors from bulk buyers. The entry time for the Nasrid Palaces is, in its wording, expressly indicated on the ticket, which must be observed, as if it is not, the opportunity to visit them will be lost. The ticket carries a name, cannot be transferred, and is checked against the identity document it was bought with. The general daytime ticket is 22.27 EUR.

What we could not establish is the advance window. The Patronato's booking shop refused automated access on the day we checked, and the pages we could open do not state how far ahead a date is released. Third-party guides give three months and one year with equal confidence, which between them is not a source. We are not going to pick one and date it, because a release window published on a guess is exactly the failure this article is about. If the window matters to your plan, the booking calendar itself is the only thing that will tell you.

Two structural facts do more work than the window anyway. The first is in the matrix above: from 1 April the complex closes at 20:00 rather than 18:00, which adds two hours of half-hourly palace slots to every day, so March can be sold out while April looks empty without any change in demand. The second is that the night visit to the palaces at 12.73 EUR draws on a quota of its own. When the daytime calendar is bare, the night one can still have room, and that is a second pool of tickets, not a trick.

What to do when it genuinely is sold out

Once you have established that the date is released and the stock is gone, the honest list of moves is short. It is also almost entirely free, which is the part the resellers are quiet about.

Move inside the day before you move the day. At the Alhambra the slots that disappear first are the mid-morning ones, roughly ten until noon, and an afternoon palace entry costs nothing extra while the rest of the hill has no timetable at all. Travellers on the Romanian forums report the same shape at Peles, where our September reading found visitors saying the first and last bands go first.

Then look for a second quota before you look for a second seller. The Alhambra night visit at 12.73 EUR is the clearest case: a separate ticket type with an allocation of its own, not the same pool with a markup on top. The house next door can do the same job. Pelisor at 30 lei has its own 1,500-place ceiling, independent of the 2,000 at Peles, and in Beijing the Treasure and Clock galleries sit behind their own 10 CNY turnstiles. A sold-out headline attraction is not a sold-out site.

Returns are the long shot. Where a body allows cancellation up to the day before, released tickets can come back into the pool, and the Palace Museum permits one cancellation per person per day with the money going back to the card that paid. No body we read advertises returns as a channel, so check without counting on it.

What does not work is buying from somebody promising the date you could not get. At these monuments the ticket carries a name or a document number, and an operator draws on the same release you did. Our guide to when to go, and whether it will even be open takes the seasonal half of this decision further.

The advice that expired: arrive at opening

Turn up at the gate when it opens. It has been the first line of castle advice for twenty years, and at a timed monument it now does the opposite of what it promises, for the plain reason that everybody has read it.

Where entry is timed, the first slot is not the quiet one, it is the one the whole internet bought. The reports we logged in September describe exactly that: first slots gone earliest at both Peles and the Alhambra, and mid-afternoon the part of the day with room in it. We are putting those forward as traveller accounts and not as published figures, because no body publishes which of its slots fills first.

The published numbers point the same way. At Peles the last band opens at 14:30 and the final individual admission is 16:00. At the Alhambra the complex has no timetable outside the palaces, so a four o'clock palace entry still leaves a whole morning on the hill. And at the Summer Palace the famous early start buys two hours of park and a closed door, because nothing you paid extra for opens before eight.

One body will move your date, and one refuses outright

The two ends of this are worth putting side by side, because nothing about a booking matters more than whether it can be changed, and the practice is not consistent.

Parques de Sintra is the lenient end. Our reading of its pages in September found that a ticket bought online can be rescheduled within a year of the purchase, which is the most generous arrangement in this catalogue. The catch is that it has to be done before the visit, not after: the body states there is no tolerance for lateness and a missed slot is neither exchanged nor refunded, so the year of flexibility expires at the moment your slot does. The conditions of sale page we reached on 28 October is terse to the point of saying almost nothing, so we date that rule to our September reading rather than to today.

Peles is the strict end, and says so in one line: tickets bought for a scheduled visit cannot be rescheduled. Karlstejn is stricter still. Tickets there are neither exchanged nor reclaimed, you have to be at the ticket office fifteen minutes before the time printed on the ticket, and a ticket becomes invalid if you do not reach the castle before your tour begins.

None of that is unreasonable for a building that admits sixteen people every half hour. It simply means that at some of these places the date you choose is the date you have, and that is worth knowing at the moment you choose it, not at the gate.

Tickets, time slots and selling out

The permanent guide behind this article: who sells what, which pass does not work, and what a sold-out calendar is really telling you.

Guided entry in Beijing

What an operator can genuinely add at the Forbidden City and the Summer Palace is the booking itself, made against your passport at the hour the window opens. It cannot add an eighth day of availability.

Ratings collected by Viator and Tripadvisor

When castle tickets go on sale: the questions people ask

How far in advance can I book Forbidden City tickets?

Seven days, and not a day more. The Palace Museum's booking portal states that tickets are reserved from 20:00 before the seventh day of the visit, so a Saturday visit goes on sale at eight in the evening, Beijing time, on the previous Saturday. There is no month-ahead calendar and no early access. If you are looking at an empty February in November, you are looking at a date that has not been released rather than one that has sold out.

Does the Forbidden City sell tickets on the day?

The museum's rule is that it does not: its own wording is that the Palace Museum does not sell one-day tickets, and every reservation is in a real name. Counters do exist, with published hours, and the payment page carries an option to apply for on-site payment, so the old claim that there is no counter at all goes too far. No page from the museum authorises a same-day purchase or rules one out case by case, so plan for the seven-day release and treat anything else as luck.

Why does the Alhambra look sold out months ahead?

Partly demand and partly arithmetic. From 1 April the complex closes at 20:00 instead of 18:00, which adds two hours of half-hourly Nasrid Palace slots to every day, so March frequently sells out while April looks open. A private buyer is also capped at ten tickets a month. When the daytime calendar is bare, the 12.73 EUR night visit to the palaces draws on a separate quota and is the best move available. We could not establish how far ahead dates are released: the Patronato's shop refused automated access on 28 October 2026 and its other pages do not say.

Can I book the basic tour at Karlstejn Castle in advance?

No. The castle states that individual booking for Tour 1 is not possible for technical reasons, and that you do not need a booking for it unless you are an organised group. Groups of ten or more can reserve at 20 CZK a head. Everybody else buys at the ticket office and takes the next departure, which leaves every ten minutes and needs five people aboard, the last tour of the day excepted.

Is Peles Castle open in November 2026?

Almost none of it. The museum gives the castle as closed from 2 November to 1 December 2026 for routine upkeep, and Pelisor as closed from 28 September to 3 November, so the smaller house reopens as the main one shuts. In any month Peles is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, releases 2,000 places a day across four time bands, sells only through bilete.peles.ro or a SelfPay machine, and does not allow a booked ticket to be moved to another date.

If a tour operator has availability, does that mean the monument does?

At these monuments, yes, and that is the point. An operator books against the same release at the same hour from the same finite stock, and at the Forbidden City and the Alhambra the ticket carries your own name or document number. What a paid product can genuinely supply is a booking already made for a date you decided late, plus the transport and the guide. What it cannot supply is an extra day of availability or a private door.

Data verified on . Read 28 October 2026 on bookingticket.dpm.org.cn, intl.dpm.org.cn, english.beijing.gov.cn, peles.ro, hrad-karlstejn.cz, alhambra-patronato.es and parquesdesintra.pt. Editorial Policy

Keep reading