Château de Chambord Tickets and Guided Visits
Entry at 21 or 31 EUR depending on your passport, no timed slot to book, and nine listings from 185 to 765 EUR rated 4.83 across 874 reviews.
Chambord is the only ticket in this catalogue whose price depends on the passport in your pocket. Since 14 January 2026, and declared by the domain as an experiment running to 31 December, the adult entry is 21 EUR for citizens and residents of the European Economic Area and 31 EUR for everyone else, with proof required at the desk. It is framed as a discount for European visitors rather than a surcharge, which amounts to the same ten euros. Nothing else about the visit changes: same rooms, same hours, same tablet you will be asked to pay extra for.
The second thing worth knowing is what the ticket leaves out, because Chambord unbundles more than any other French château here. The HistoPad, the tablet that carries the reconstructions and the commentary, is 6.50 EUR on top, or 17 EUR for three within a family. Car parking is charged separately at machines that are not the ticket desk. And the combined tickets that pair Chambord with Chenonceau and Clos Lucé, with Amboise, or with the zoo at Beauval, exist only on the internet: the domain states plainly that they are not sold at its own ticket office.
What it does not ask of you is a time. There is no compulsory slot, no fixed entry window and no obligatory guided tour. Booking online is presented by the domain as a way of avoiding the queue, not as a requirement, which puts Chambord at the opposite end of the French spectrum from Versailles. Turning up on the day and buying at the desk is a supported way of visiting here.
The catalogue on this site tells a blunter story about how people actually get here. Nine listings carry Chambord, eight of them run eight hours or more, and the median length is nine hours. That is not a visit, it is a day built around the fact that the château has no railway station. The only listing that finishes inside two hours is a private guided walk at 289.50 EUR, against an entry ticket of 21.
They are rated well, at 4.83 weighted across 874 reviews, with a warning attached: 439 of those reviews, exactly half, belong to one product. All nine come from the same supplier and all nine cancel free. Nothing here confirms instantly and nothing declares skip-the-line, which is consistent with a château that does not sell timed entry at all.
What follows is the ticket in detail, what the tablet adds and whether it is worth 6.50 EUR, how long the domain's own materials suggest you will be inside, and the three dates in 2026 when the roads to the château close in the early afternoon.
Chambord and Chenonceau at Christmas: Guided Day from Tours or Amboise
A local guide walks both châteaux while they are decorated for Christmas, with pickup outside the tourist office in Tours at 9am or Amboise at 9.30am.
Chambord, Chenonceau and Lunch Inside Family-Owned Château de Villesavin
Lunch is served inside Villesavin, a family-owned château, between the guided visits to Chenonceau and Chambord. Departures from Tours and from Amboise.
Chenonceau and Chambord with a Free Midday in Amboise, the Old Capital
The minivan breaks in Amboise, the old capital of the valley, so lunch and the town are your own time between the guided visits to Chenonceau and Chambord.
Chenonceau and Chambord with an English Guide Inside Both Castles
The guiding is in English and happens inside both castles, with time for lunch at your own expense between them and pickup at the Tours tourist office.
Private Loire from Paris: Da Vinci's Tomb at Amboise, Chenonceau, Chambord
A private car leaves Paris and returns the same day, taking in Leonardo da Vinci's tomb at Amboise, a photo stop at Clos Lucé, Chenonceau and Chambord.
Chambord by E-Bike from Amboise, with a Stop at Château de Villesavin
Departure is from the Amboise tourist office, the ride is on electric bikes, and the second stop is a snack at Villesavin, a château owned by a family.
Chambord by E-Bike from Tours, with a Break at Château de Villesavin
E-bikes, a guide and panoramic stops most visitors never find, plus a snack break at Villesavin, a château that is privately owned and still in family hands.
Chambord in Two Hours: Private Guide from Place Saint-Louis to the Gardens
Two hours with a private guide, starting at the castle entrance rather than a coach park, through the interior and the formal gardens replanted in 2017.
Chenonceau, Chambord and Vouvray Tasting in a Limestone Cave Winery
Nine hours by minivan in a small group, with guided visits to Chenonceau and Chambord and a cheese and Vouvray tasting in a limestone cave winery between them.
Ratings collected by Viator and Tripadvisor
The ticket, and who pays what
The reference adult price is 31 EUR, with 21 EUR for anyone who is a citizen or resident of one of the 27 European Union countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway. Residence counts as well as citizenship, provided the residence permit or visa runs longer than three months, and the domain asks for the document. The reduced rates follow the same split: 18.50 EUR inside the European Economic Area, 28.50 outside it.
The reduced band is unusually wide and worth reading if any of it applies to you. It covers visitors aged 18 to 25 from outside the European Union, anyone who has bought one of the domain's forest or activity products, the companion of a season-ticket holder, holders of a named works-council card, groups over twenty, people out of work with a certificate less than six months old, members of the French equestrian federation, and teachers without a pass éducation. Free entry covers under-18s visiting individually, 18 to 25 year olds from the European Union and the wider European Economic Area, holders of the Culture Card, disabled visitors with one companion, people on minimum social benefits, and journalists.
One trap sits inside that list and it catches French teachers every year. The pass éducation gives free entry only as a paper card stamped for the current year. The domain writes that the electronic version is not issued by the education ministry and therefore does not confer the right. A teacher who arrives with the app pays 21 or 31 EUR like anyone else.
| Standard entry | Entry with HistoPad | Combined tickets | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adult price | 21 EUR EEA, 31 EUR otherwise | Add 6.50 EUR, or 17 EUR for three | Not published as a single figure |
| Reduced price | 18.50 EUR EEA, 28.50 otherwise | Same supplement applies | Not stated |
| Where you can buy it | Online or at the château ticket desk | Online or at the desk | Online only, never at the château desk |
| What it opens | The free-flow visit of the château | 16 stations from the ground floor to the second, 9 rooms rebuilt in 3D, over 1 h 30 of audio in 12 languages | Chambord with Chenonceau and Clos Lucé, with Amboise, or with the ZooParc de Beauval |
| Timed entry | Not required | Not required | Not required |
| Guided tour | Optional, sold separately | Optional | Not included |
The tablet, and the only clue to how long you need
Chambord publishes no recommended visit length. Neither the pricing page nor the practical information pages give a figure in hours, which is unusual for a monument of this size and leaves visitors guessing at the one number that decides their day.
There is a proxy, and it comes from the domain itself. The HistoPad contains 16 stations from the ground floor to the second, nine rooms reconstructed in three dimensions and more than an hour and a half of audio, in twelve languages, with a version adapted for reduced mobility and a mode for visitors with low vision. An hour and a half of commentary spread over sixteen stops is the closest thing to an official duration that exists, and it lines up with the one and a half to three hours per château that experienced Loire travellers quote.
Whether the 6.50 EUR is worth paying depends on a fact about the building rather than about the tablet. Chambord is largely unfurnished. Without the reconstructions you are walking through architecture, and the domain's own product is built on the assumption that you would like to see what the rooms held. It is included in the Passeport journée, a day pass whose price is not stated on the pages we read. If you are bringing children, the family rate of 17 EUR for three tablets is the version that makes sense.
What can be shut when you arrive
The domain maintains a standing page called salles fermées en ce moment, rooms closed at the moment, because building work and weather can take parts of the château and the gardens out of service without notice. Very few monuments publish that list at all. It is worth two minutes before a long drive.
Three dates matter more than any of it. On 26, 27 and 28 June 2026 the château closes at 18:00 and the access roads shut from 13:00 for concerts in the park. The building is technically open those afternoons and unreachable by car. Winter has its own pattern: shut on the Mondays of 5, 12, 19 and 26 January, on 2 February and on 9, 16 and 23 March 2026, and open on every other Monday of the year.
What the ticket does not cover
Three things sit outside the entry price and all three surprise people. The tablet, at 6.50 EUR. The car park, at 8 EUR a day across P0, P2 and P3, paid at machines on the car parks themselves rather than at the ticket office, card at any hour and cash only between 9:00 and 16:30. Two pages of the domain's own site disagree here, one quoting 8 EUR and another 6 for P0 and 4 for P2, so keep coins and low expectations. A card of ten parking sessions costs 10 EUR and lasts a year, which is the cheapest thing the domain sells if you are coming back.
The third is the combined tickets, and this one is a genuine trap because the pairing with Chenonceau is what most visitors want. They are an internet-only offer, and the domain says so in as many words: those combined tickets are not sold at the château's ticket office. Deciding at the gate that you would also like Chenonceau tomorrow means buying two separate full-price tickets.
Bicycles, on the other hand, are looked after. The park is crossed by the Loire à Vélo route for about six kilometres, the domain has more than twenty-five kilometres of cycle paths, and the bike parking at the main entrance is free and comes with a charging point for e-bikes and a repair station. Coach and minibus parking is free for operators who can show they have bought at least eight tickets, or one in the case of a minibus, on the day of the visit.
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |
Two practical consequences follow from that calendar. In winter the last hour of daylight arrives before the château closes, so a 17:00 closing is a shorter day than it sounds if you also want the park. And the eight closed Mondays are listed individually rather than as a weekly rule, which means a Monday in February is a working day here and a Monday in January is not. The reservations office keeps its own hours: seven days a week from 9:00 to 18:00 between April and October, closing at 17:00 at weekends and on public holidays, and Monday to Saturday 9:00 to 17:00 from November to March.
What this catalogue actually sells for Chambord
Nine listings, and the shape of them is dictated by the absence of a station. Eight run eight hours or more, the median is nine, and the longest is thirteen. Prices run from 185 to 765 EUR with a median of 210, and the interquartile range is narrow, 199 to 239, which means most of what is sold here is the same day at nearly the same price.
The exception is worth naming because it is the only short product in this part of the catalogue: a two-hour private guided walk at 289.50 EUR, rated 4.6 from ten reviews. Against an entry ticket of 21 EUR that is a great deal of money for two hours, and it exists because there is no other way to buy a guide here at short notice. At the other end, two e-bike days from Tours and Amboise at 185 and 189 EUR are the only listings that reach the château without a motor vehicle, which fits a domain with twenty-five kilometres of cycle paths better than a coach does.
The ratings are strong and thin at the same time. 4.83 weighted across 874 reviews, but 439 of those come from one nine-and-a-half hour Chambord and Chenonceau day with lunch at a private château, rated 4.9. Take that product out and the sample halves. The weakest listing with a real sample, at 4.6 from 169 reviews, is a nine-hour version of the same pairing that adds cellar visits at Amboise, which is a longer day for the same 239 EUR.
Chambord questions with numbers in the answers
How much is a ticket to Chambord in 2026?
21 EUR if you are a citizen or resident of the European Economic Area and can show proof, 31 EUR otherwise. Reduced rates are 18.50 and 28.50. The two-tier pricing started on 14 January 2026 and the domain describes it as an experiment running to 31 December 2026.
Do I have to book a time slot?
No. Chambord requires no timed entry and no guided tour. The domain presents online booking as a way to skip the ticket queue rather than as an obligation, so buying at the desk on the day is a normal way to visit. That is the opposite of the rule at Versailles.
Is the HistoPad included in the ticket?
No. It is 6.50 EUR on top, or 17 EUR for three tablets within a family, and it is included only in the Passeport journée. It carries 16 stations across three floors, 9 rooms rebuilt in 3D and over 1 hour 30 of audio in 12 languages, with versions for reduced mobility and low vision.
How long do I need inside?
The domain publishes no figure. The nearest official signal is the HistoPad's own content: 16 stations and more than 1 hour 30 of audio. Experienced Loire travellers quote 1 hour 30 to 3 hours per château, and Chambord divides them more than most because quote 1 hour 30 to 3 hours per château, and Chambord divides them more than most because the rooms are mostly bare.
Is parking included?
No. Car parks P0, P2 and P3 are 8 EUR a day, paid at machines on the car park rather than at the ticket office, card at any hour and cash only from 9:00 to 16:30. A card of ten sessions is 10 EUR and lasts a year. Two pages of the domain's own site quote different prices, so carry coins.
Can I buy the Chambord and Chenonceau combined ticket at the gate?
No. The domain states that combined tickets are an internet-only offer and are not sold at its ticket office. The three pairings are Chambord with Chenonceau and Clos Lucé, Chambord with Amboise, and Chambord with the ZooParc de Beauval.
When is Chambord closed?
1 January and 25 December, plus eight named Mondays: 5, 12, 19 and 26 January, 2 February, and 9, 16 and 23 March 2026. On 26, 27 and 28 June the château shuts at 18:00 and the access roads close from 13:00 for concerts in the park.
Data verified on. Prices, hours, closures, parking and HistoPad details from chambord.org, read 5 September 2026. Listing prices, durations and ratings from our own database on the same date.